On Friday (December 6), Coinbase announced that Coinbase Card now supports stablecoin DAI, the native token of MakerDAO, Maker’s decentralized autonomous orgnaization.

Here is how Coinbase announced the news:

The Coinbase Card was introduced on April 11, and at that time, it was only supported in the UK. The idea was to allow Coinbase’s customers to easily spend any of the crypto balances in their Coinbase account to pay for goods/services anywhere that Visa is accepted or for making cash withdrawals from ATMs.

At launch, Coinbase Card supported the following four cryptoassets: Bitcoin (BTC), Ether (ETH), Bitcoin Cash (BCH), and Litecoin (LTC).

Then, two months later, Coinbase announced that the Coinbase Card had been made available in six other European countries: Spain, Germany, France, Italy, Ireland, and the Netherlands.

Today’s announcement comes roughly three weeks after Coinbase said (on 14 November 2019) that Coinbase Card had expanded to 10 additional countries — Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Hungary, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Poland, Romania, and Sweden — and added support for five more cryptoassets (XRP, Basic Attention Token, Augur 0x, and Stellar).

Featured Image Courtesy of Coinbase